Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Translate  | COVID-19

City Government
Boards & Commissions

Boards and Commissions

Lockhart offers numerous ways for its citizens to become actively involved in city government business by applying to serve on one of many boards or commissions.


  • The following is information providing a list of Rules for qualifications for individuals to serve on a City of Lockhart board/commission as adopted by the Lockhart City Council on February 15, 2022: 

    Section 2-209 of the Lockhart Code of Ordinances. - Rules for qualifications and appointment.

    The city council hereby sets the following rules:

    (a) Except as may be established by existing city ordinances or resolutions, the process for selecting members shall be open to all Lockhart citizens, who must apply for appointment, to include those applying for reappointment. Reappointment shall not be deemed automatic.

    (b) Council shall seek to appoint the most qualified or best persons available, while also respecting the need for diverse community opinions.

    (c) The qualifications for members of boards and commissions, except special qualifications for service on a particular board or commission, are as follows:

    1. Appointees must each be a resident of the State of Texas and a resident of the City of Lockhart for at least twelve (12) consecutive months preceding their appointment unless a particular board’s or commission’s composition or state law allows for membership by a non-resident of the City.

    2. The City Council shall have the right, but not the duty, to appoint up to two members who are not city residents but who are residents of Caldwell County to the Lockhart Airport Advisory Board, the Eugene Clark Library Board, and the construction board of appeals.

    3. Appointees shall be qualified voters in the City of Lockhart or, if not a resident of the City, of Caldwell County.

    4. Appointees shall not have been removed from another city board or commission because of failure to attend meetings or for cause within the last three years.

    5. No member of a board or commission, except the Lockhart Economic Development Corporation, may remain in his or her position after being elected to City Council.

    6. A member who is required to be a resident of the city (or county when applicable) when appointed and who thereafter moves his or her primary residence outside of the corporate limits of Lockhart (or county when applicable) vacates his or her position on a board of commission on the date the residency changes.

    7. Any member of a board or commission who is absent from three consecutive regular meetings, or any four non-consecutive regular meetings of the board or commission during any twelve-month period, shall forfeit his or her position and the vacancy occurring shall be declared and filled by the Council.

    8. Members must maintain their qualifications while serving on a board or commission

    (d)  No member of any appointed body shall serve on more than one quasi-judicial or advisory board or commission.

    (e)  No appointed body shall deviate from its charge, deliberate items not on its agendas, or speak for the council or City of Lockhart without council authorization.

    (f) Members appointed serve without compensation.



As a vacancy occurs, it is noted in the board/commission section below.

To learn more about what each of these boards and commissions does and what is required to serve,click here.

If you are interested in applying please complete the application below and submit to Julie Bowermon at jbowermon@lockhart-tx.org.

Airport Advisory

Jayson "Tex" Cordova 
Benny Hilburn
Thomas Hughes
Daniel Koehler
Jake McCullough
Andrew Reyes
Vacancy (District 1)

Lockhart Economic Development Corporation

Juan Alvarez, Jr.
Sally Daniel
Frank Estrada
Alan Fielder, Chair
Doug Foster
Alfredo Munoz
Yolanda Strey

Board of Adjustment

Mike Annas , Vice-Chair
Laura Cline, Chair 
Lucy Knight
Shawn Martinez
Marcia Proctor
Lori Rangel 
Wayne Reeder
Vacancy-Alternate position

Electric Board of Review

James Briceno 
Joe Colley, Chair 
Frank Gomillion
John Voigt
Vacancy - District 4

City Council 

Lew White - Mayor 
Angie Gonzales-Sanchez - Mayor Pro-Tem 
Brad Westmoreland - At-Large 
Juan Mendoza - District 1 
John Castillo - District 2 
John Lairsen - District 3 
Jeffry Michelson - District 4

Historical Preservation Commission

Ron Faulstich
Christine Ohlendorf
Ray Ramsey
Ronda Reagan 
Michel Royal
Kevin Thuerwaechter

Civil Service Commission

Worlanda Neal
Ray Sanders
Carl Cisneros 

Animal Shelter Advisory Board

Susan Falgout

Alexandra Worthington

Andrea Theriot

Dr. Morgan Siewert, DVM

Caldwell County Commissioner B.J. Westmoreland

Lockhart Police Chief Gary Williamson

Lockhart Animal Shelter Supervisor Nikole Lockard

Charter Review Commission

Alan Fielder 
Bill Hernandez 
Elizabeth Raxter 
Ray Sanders 
Roland Velvin

Library Board

Donaly Brice 
Jean Clark-Fox, Chair 
Quartermetra Hughes
Jody King 
Rebecca Lockhart 
Stephanie Riggin 
Shirley Williams 

Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals

Raymond DeLeon
Gary Shafer 
Ian Stowe
Michael Voetee
Jerry West, Vice-Chair 
Vacancy - District 2

Parks and Recreation Board

Warren Burnett 
Lonnie Jones
Rob Ortiz, Alternate 
Lee Parra
Dennis Placke 
Karla Tate
Linda Thompson-Bennett 
Russell Wheeler 

Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT) Advisory Board

Ray Sanders
Alfredo Munoz
Archana Gandhi
Janet Grigar
Steve Lewis
Sally Daniel

Planning & Zoning Commission

Rick Arnic
Bradley Lingvai
Philip McBride
Manuel Oliva
Dr. Ronald Peterson
Philip Ruiz
Julia Haug
Larry Metzler - Impact Fee Advisory Committee
File Downloads 
For more information contact the city secretary: 
City of Lockhart 
PO Box 239 
Lockhart, TX 78644 

Copyright © 2016, City of Lockhart, TX

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM